Mariamz

We All Like to Reblog (via WordPress.com News)

Posted on: June 8, 2010

In honour of what looks like a fantastic new feature – and to test it out myself – here is a reblog – of Andy P’s blog on WordPress’s new reblog function.

So far, so good. In just one click I’ve re-shared another WordPress blog post and typed a quick comment. Looks like all I have to do now is publish! 🙂

Actually, one downer is the ‘tags’ come up from the original post (which is good) – but not my usual list of tags I have used before. So when re-blogging you have to remember your own tags if you are trying to keep them to a consistent, manageable set. In fact, I wonder if my reblog post will inherit all the tags the post has kept from its original author? If so I’d probably want to remove half of these….

We All Like to Reblog Have you ever come across a blog post that you enjoyed so much you wanted to easily share it with the readers of your own blog? Sure, you can copy and paste the link and perhaps even a snippet of text with your own comments, but overall it’s not a particularly enjoyable experience. We wanted to change this and make sharing other posts with your readers as easy as posting to your blog. Today we’re introducing a new like and reblog feature enabled … Read More

via WordPress.com News

*Update*

OK – so the tags are not inherited from the original post – nor does my reblog post seem to have been assigned the new tag I put on, ‘social media’. Which is good – because it means you do not introduce a whole new set of tags automatically with each reblog. But bad because it means that I can’t tag this reblog post with ‘social media’ and have it come up in results alongside all my other posts when I click on ‘social media’ in the tag cloud. 

I think the bad outweighs the good on this one – WordPress – please fix!!

**Further update**

So you can assign tags to a reblog post – but only by going in to ‘edit’ it after you have published it. Then you can assign tags as you would to one of your own.

Leave a Reply

This blog is about utilizing and optimizing the social web for business, pleasure and social change

My tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Creative Commons License
This work is licenced under a Creative Commons Licence.

The views in this blog do not reflect that of my employer